British Silver Coins

  • Price - Low to High
  • Popularity
  • Recently Added
  • Price - Low to High
  • Price - High to Low
  • Weight Ascending
  • Weight Descending

British Silver Coins from BullionMax

The Royal Mint of England, often referred to simply as the Royal Mint, is the official minting facility of the United Kingdom. It is responsible for producing the country’s currency, including coins and medals. The Royal Mint also produces coins for other countries and offers a range of commemorative and bullion coins for collectors and investors.

Notable British Silver Coin Collections

When it comes to silver coins, the Royal Mint has produced numerous series and individual coins over the years. Some notable examples include:

  1. Britannia Coins: The Britannia series is one of the most popular and enduring coin ranges produced by the Royal Mint. Britannia is a symbol of British strength and resilience and has been featured on coins since Roman times. The silver Britannia coins are struck in .999 fine silver as of 2013 and come in various sizes, ranging from one-ounce to fractional weights. These coins typically feature a depiction of Britannia on the reverse and the reigning monarch on the obverse. Her Late Majesty Queen Elizabeth II featured on the coins through early 2023, with King Charles III now on the obverse of mid-2023.
  2. Queen’s Beasts Series: The Queen’s Beasts is a series of coins that celebrates the ten ancestral heraldic beasts that stood guard at Queen Elizabeth II’s coronation in 1953. Each beast represents a different aspect of British history and mythology. The silver coins in this series are also struck in .9999 fine silver and feature intricate designs of the respective heraldic beasts on the reverse, with the Queen’s effigy on the obverse.
  3. Tudor Beasts Series: Introduced as a follow-up to the Queen’s Beasts Series, the new Tudor Beasts Series features 10 new heraldic beast designs inspired by the reign of the monarchs from the House of Tudor, a dynasty that controlled the throne from 1485 to 1603.
  4. Lunar Series: The Lunar series is based on the Chinese zodiac and features different animals every year. The Royal Mint has produced silver coins as part of this series, which are highly sought after by collectors. Each coin represents a specific animal sign, such as the Year of the Rat, Year of the Ox, and so on. These coins are usually struck in .999 or .9999 fine silver and come in various sizes.
  5. Commemorative Coins: The Royal Mint regularly releases commemorative coins to mark significant events or anniversaries. These coins often feature special designs, limited mintages, and are sought after by collectors. Some examples include coins commemorating royal weddings, historical events, sporting events, and famous individuals.

History of the Royal Mint

The Royal Mint has a long and storied history, dating back over a thousand years. Its origins can be traced to the 9th century during the reign of King Alfred the Great (871-899). At that time, coins were produced in various locations across England by different mints. However, Alfred the Great consolidated these mints and established a central mint in London. This marked the beginning of what would eventually become the Royal Mint.

Buy British Silver Coins from BullionMax

PLease contact BullionMax if you have any questions. You can call us at 800-729-3202, chat with us live online, or email us directly.